February 2016

Agreement on systematic controls of EU external borders

EU migration ministers agree that everyone, including EU citizens, will be systematically checked at the EU’s external borders. All member states will be obliged to check that no one entering or leaving the EU represents a threat to public order and security. The ministers reached agreement on the controls in Brussels thursday during a meeting chaired by the Netherlands Presidency.


By Anna Magda

Turkish diplomacy has intensified contacts with the former Soviet Union countries. February 15 visit of Minister of Foreign Affairs Ahmet Davutoglu in Kiev, during which he stated that "the formation of an anti-Azerbaijani alliance between Russia and Armenia has become a fait accompli, threatening the territorial integrity of Azerbaijan."

Secretary General: NATO and the EU working closer together than ever before


Calling the European Union “an essential partner for NATO,” Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg has welcomed closer cooperation between the European Union and NATO. Addressing the European Parliament’s Foreign Affairs Committee and Sub-Committee on Security and Defence on Tuesday (23 February 2016), he noted that 90% of the European Union’s citizens are also citizens of NATO Allies, which underscores the importance of the relationship.

Security of the Astravyets nuclear power plant – concern for the whole EU

Monday, February 22, Vilnius – President Dalia Grybauskaitė met with Maroš Šefčovič, Vice-President of the European Commission responsible for the EU’s energy union. The meeting placed special emphasis on issues concerning the security of the Astravyets nuclear power plant being built in Lithuania’s and the EU’s neighborhood and the synchronization of Baltic electricity grids with continental Europe.

Kazakhstan Committed to Competitive, Transparent and Fair Elections, Foreign Minister Says


Kazakhstan is committed to holding competitive, transparent and fair elections, Foreign Minister Erlan Idrissov said at a Feb. 17 meeting with the head of the observation mission for early parliamentary elections from the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe’s Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR).