Aktau to host summit of Caspian countries

Aktau to host summit of Caspian countries

The Caspian summit will be held on August 12 in Kazakh Aktau town, Foreign Minister of Kazakhstan Kairat Abdrakhmanov said. 

"Currently, foreign ministries of all five Caspian states, namely Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Iran, the Russian Federation and Turkmenistan, are actively working to prepare for the Fifth Caspian Summit, which is scheduled for August 12 in Aktau," the minister said.

He stressed that all states through diplomatic channels confirmed their participation in the event.

According to Abdrakhmanov, detailed information about the agenda of the summit will be circulated in due time through the channels of the press service of the presidential administration of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Russia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Turkmenistan and Iran signed the Framework Convention for the Protection of the Marine Environment of the Caspian Sea in November 2003.

In July 1998, Kazakhstan and Russia signed the agreement on division of the bottom of the northern part of the Caspian Sea for subsurface use. In May 2002, the countries signed a protocol to the agreement. In November 2001 and February 2003, agreements were signed between Kazakhstan and Azerbaijan. In May 2003, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan and Russia signed agreement on boundaries of shared bottom of the Caspian Sea.

The Caspian states summits were held in 2002 in Ashgabat, in 2007 in Tehran, in 2010 in Baku, in 2014 in Astrakhan. Political decisions made at the summits of the Caspian states in Baku and Astrakhan contributed to harmonization of several important provisions of the draft of the convention on a legal status of the Caspian Sea. As a host country of the summit, Kazakhstan expects the convention on the legal status of the Caspian Sea will be adopted.



World media monitoring

Bookmark/Search this post with